The towns of Québec and Trois-Rivières were part of the domain of the King, who was the seigneur of these two urban centres. His representatives—the Governor General and the Intendant of New France—were in charge of assigning lots within these towns, in exchange for dues and certain obligations. Montréal was different, as its territory had been ceded as a seigneury to the Seminary of Saint-Sulpice.

Concession in Québec
Concession of a site in the town of Québec, by Governor Jacques-René Briasay de Denonville, and Intendant Jean Bochart de Champigny, to Michel Guyon de Rouvray, April 13, 1689